First Mona Lisa Touch Treatment

Today was the big day. I was fortunate to be able to book in early for my first Mona Lisa Touch session, due to a cancellation. I’ve spent some of the last week reviewing comments on other sites about it and by 4.00pm today I was feeling mildly excited about the whole thing. The main objection seems to be cost, and the need for ongoing treatments. Results vary from good to excellent. Some women report pain, and some don’t.
You know that thing that happens where you finally admit you have a problem and suddenly you start to notice it much more than you used to? I’ve had a week like that. I suppose the long, slow decline into significant vaginal atrophy has beens so gradual that I have just accommodated the discomfort. All I’ve been able to focus on this week has been the sorry state of things, and the possibility of recovery. Today couldn’t come soon enough.

I was shown into the treatment room and asked by the assistant to strip off everything below the waist. “You can keep you knickers on until the doctor arrives if you like.” I didn’t see the point but appreciated the courtesy. I sat in the treatment chair and spread a cloth across my lap. A few minutes later the doctor arrived. He took some individually packaged items out of a cupboard and put his disposable gloves on, before explaining to me that the first treatment was usually the one people found a bit uncomfortable, mostly because of the unfamiliarity of the process.

The doctor attached a metal rod about the size of a tube of toothpaste to the end of a cord attached to a mechanical arm. He held his hand behind the tip of the rod so that I could see the red laser against his glove. This was what would create tiny blasts against the walls of my vagina, causing the skin to rejuvenate. It looked a bit like the laser toys you use to amuse cats, and I avoided making pussy jokes. Next, the doctor explained that the device would vibrate and that the procedure sometimes resulted in some smoke and a burning smell so he’ll be using a small vacuum. The humour potential of this procedure is apparently endless. Determined to have a smoking hot vagina, I scoot down and put my legs in the stirrups.

I’ve watched the video of this procedure before coming in today and I highly recommend it. Knowing what is about to happen certainly reduces any anxiety. You can view it on Dr Metawa’s site here:
https://drmetawa.com.au/web/index.php/gynaecology/vaginal-atrophy.html

There’s some pressure as the rod is inserted, but no more that you would feel with a speculum during a pap smear. Probably less. I’m asked to take a deep breath and to let it out slowly. Once the rod is inserted, the doctor asks me if I think there’s any more room and I suggest he can probably go a bit deeper. I am once again impressed by his determination to minimise any discomfort to me.

The procedure starts and there’s some clunking noises from the machinery, a mild vibration from the rod and the faint odour of burning skin. It doesn’t feel unpleasant and I am not in any pain. I did take two Pandadol about an hour before the procedure, just as I would with leg waxing or any other minimally painful procedure. I know that the laser is making tiny incisions into the walls of my vagina but I can barely feel it.

After about five minutes the doctor tells me that we are half way, and that I may find the sensations more intense as the skin towards the opening of the vagina is more sensitive. I start to feel some stinging, but it’s mild and certainly less that the pain of waxing or laser hair removal. As predicted, the intensity increases at the opening of my vagina and there are a few hits to the vulva that sting. If you have every pulled out a stray pubic hair with tweezers, that’s close. A bit of an ‘ouch’ but nothing too serious. I’m smiling and chatting. It’s all good.

The whole procedure is over and done in about ten minutes. There is no pain or discomfort once it’s finished. I’m told not to put anything in my vagina for five days and to expect a kind of watery discharge which may show signs of blood for about three days. All this is normal.

I was told the procedure would cost $200 with a $90 rebate but there’s also a $150 consultation fee, so $350 all up with $90 back on Medicare means I’ve paid $260 for today. I have two more treatments to go, each a month apart. I think it’s money well spent.

To put the cost into perspective, I know people that spend $300 a month at the hairdresser, or the beautician or the manicurists. Personally, I don’t balk at spending at least that amount on regular massages and yoga classes. It’s all about priorities. I’m hoping to reclaim comfortable intercourse with this procedure (and it would be worth it for that alone). I’m also expecting it to restore my ability to urinate without it going over my thighs and to be able to stop urinating without it continuing to leak. As a side benefit, I will be able to use toilet paper again without leaving a trail of confetti behind.

As I drive away from the doctor’s surgery I have a pleasantly warm sensation in my vagina and vulva. It feels a lot like the last time I had great sex. There is no pain two hours later as I write this, but I’m feeling hopeful and happy. I heard from one woman who said she needed to sit on ice packs for three hours after her treatment. I don’t know if this is something to do with her anatomy or something to do with the skill of the operator. I simply acknowledge that my absence of pain might not be the case for everyone.

It’s too soon to tell how much impact my first treatment has had, but already I feel a lot more comfortable. Things feel normal again, rather than dry and stretched. This is a good sign. There’s a mild stinging when I urinate but it’s brief, and there’s enough blood to wear a panty liner.

I’ll update in a couple of weeks when the results should be evident. I’m feeling optimistic.

In other news, my yoga teacher has asked me to do a trauma workshop with her and to lead some of the exercises from my book. I’m honoured and excited. There are also two psychologists and a doctor that have told me they plan on recommending it to their patients and a local oncology massage practice have a sample copy on display. I had great feedback from a lovely woman this week. Here’s the link again for anyone who’s interested:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521249377?ref_=pe_870760_150889320

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

